Osama is dead

Osama bin Laden, the face that America thinks of when someone says the word “terrorism,” has been killed by US forces.

I feel no remorse over his death. In fact I feel nothing more than inquisitiveness in regards to the whole situation.

America remains in the dark in a lot of ways in respect to the details of Bin Laden’s assassination. Why was he buried at sea? It has been said that we did this to honor his traditional methods of burial. This does not add up. If US forces killed him, why would they care about his beliefs or wishes?

Why are there no pictures of his body? Shouldn’t there be proof out there somewhere? Is he really dead?

Why is no one asking these questions?

Aside from all the fuzzy details, there lies the moral dilemma of assassination. Is it ok to assassinate people? If not, was Bin Laden an exception to the rule? Are there other exceptions? Where do we draw the line?

That is the scariest part of it all. I don’t have a problem with him being dead, but I do not feel right about US forces assassinating anyone they feel threatened by. It seems like a slippery slope to me.

About ald66

I am Journalism and Spanish student at UMASS Amherst. I am supporting my education through restaurant work. I love yoga and animals.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment